Skip to main content

PA Ministry of Culture appreciates UNESCO resolution in face of "crazy Israeli attempts to Judaize Jerusalem and its identity”

Headline: “The [PA] Ministry of Culture expressed appreciation for the UNESCO resolution to recognize the Palestinian right in Jerusalem”
     “The [PA] Ministry of Culture expressed appreciation for the resolution of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) regarding the adoption of a resolution proposal about the blessed Al-Aqsa Mosque (the Noble Sanctuary) [parentheses in original] (i.e., the Temple Mount) and the Al-Buraq Wall (i.e., the Western Wall), and defense of the Palestinian heritage and the extraordinary nature of Jerusalem…
The ministry said today [Oct. 18, 2016] in a statement that this resolution can establish the Palestinian national and historical rights, and particularly in the capital of Jerusalem, and can strengthen the cultural and heritage presence in it, which constitutes a victory for the original owners of the right and the land and for the Palestinian narrative that cannot be erased or forged, despite all of the crazy Israeli attempts to Judaize Jerusalem and its identity.”

UNESCO passed a resolution in Paris on “Occupied Palestine” on Oct. 13, 2016, with 24 countries voting in favor, 6 against, and 24 abstentions.
In the resolution UNESCO refers to the Temple Mount, the holiest site in Judaism, only as “ Al-Aqsa Mosque/Al-Haram Al-Sharif,” and presents it only as a “Muslim holy site.” The resolution condemns “escalating Israeli aggressions” and Israeli “violations” at the site, and calls on Israel “to respect the integrity, authenticity and cultural heritage of Al-Aqṣa Mosque/Al-Ḥaram Al-Sharif… as a Muslim holy site of worship.” The resolution likewise refers to the Western Wall Plaza as the “Al-Buraq Plaza ‘Western Wall Plaza,’” adding quotation marks to the Jewish name for the site.
The resolution was submitted by Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, and Sudan.
The countries voting for the resolution were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chad, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, and Vietnam.
Those voting against it were: Estonia, Germany, Lithuania, The Netherlands, the UK, and the US.
Mexico later noted for the record that its position on the issue is one of abstention, although the vote count was unaffected.