Skip to main content

PA Foreign Minister “regrets” UN Sec-Gen’s opposition to UNESCO resolution omitting Jewish history in Jerusalem

Headline: “Al-Malki: The consultations regarding the [UN] Security Council resolution on the settlements have been completed”

“In response to UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon’s opposition to the latest resolution of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) regarding the Al-Aqsa Mosque, [PA Minister of Foreign Affairs Riyad] Al-Malki expressed regret over this statement. He said that it testifies to a lack of understanding of the meaning of the resolution, and involvement in matters that are not in his [Ki-moon’s] field of authority. Likewise, he explained that the importance of this resolution and its influence will be clarified to Ban Ki-moon.”

UNESCO passed a resolution in Paris on “Occupied Palestine” on Oct. 13, 2016, with 24 countries voting in favor, 6 against, and 24 abstentions. The resolution was later approved by UNESCO's World Heritage Committee on Oct. 26, 2016, in a secret ballot in which ten countries voted in favor of the resolution, two opposed, eight abstained, and one country, Jamaica, was absent.
In the resolution UNESCO refers to the Temple Mount, the holiest site in Judaism, only as “Al-Aqsa Mosque/Al-Haram Al-Sharif,” and presents it only as a “Muslim holy site.” The resolution condemns “escalating Israeli aggressions” and Israeli “violations” at the site, and calls on Israel “to respect the integrity, authenticity and cultural heritage of Al-Aqṣa Mosque/Al-Ḥaram Al-Sharif… as a Muslim holy site of worship.” The resolution likewise refers to the Western Wall Plaza as the “Al-Buraq Plaza ‘Western Wall Plaza,’” adding quotation marks to the Jewish name for the site.
The resolution was submitted by Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, and Sudan.
The countries voting for the resolution were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chad, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, and Vietnam.
Those voting against it were: Estonia, Germany, Lithuania, The Netherlands, the UK, and the US.
Mexico later noted for the record that its position on the issue is one of abstention, although the vote count was unaffected.
Full text here:

RelatedView all ❯