Skip to main content

Abbas’ advisor on religious affairs: The entire Al-Aqsa Mosque plaza has always been a purely Islamic property. Not even the Jews ever claimed ownership of it

Friday sermon in presence of PA Chairman Abbas
Mahmoud Abbas’ advisor on Religious and Islamic Affairs, Mahmoud Al-Habbash: "Throughout history the Al-Buraq Wall (i.e., the Western Wall), its plaza, and all of its facilities, the area of the Dung Gate, and the entire Al-Aqsa Mosque (i.e., the Temple Mount) have been a purely Islamic waqf and a purely Islamic property. And no one, [not] even the Jews, ever claimed - they have not claimed ownership of it before. But [now] they are attempting to change world awareness, and they think they can create a right through occupation."
Click to view bulletin

In addition to being Abbas' advisor, Mahmoud Al-Habbash also serves as the PA's Supreme Shari'ah Judge and Chairman of the Supreme Council for Shari'ah Justice.

Waqf is an inalienable religious endowment in Islamic law.

UNESCO passed a resolution in Paris on “Occupied Palestine” on Oct. 13, 2016, with 24 countries voting in favor, 6 against, and 24 abstentions. The resolution was later approved by UNESCO's World Heritage Committee on Oct. 26, 2016, in a secret ballot in which ten countries voted in favor of the resolution, two opposed, eight abstained, and one country, Jamaica, was absent.
In the resolution UNESCO refers to the Temple Mount, the holiest site in Judaism, only as “Al-Aqsa Mosque/Al-Haram Al-Sharif,” and presents it only as a “Muslim holy site.” The resolution condemns “escalating Israeli aggressions” and Israeli “violations” at the site, and calls on Israel “to respect the integrity, authenticity and cultural heritage of Al-Aqṣa Mosque/Al-Ḥaram Al-Sharif… as a Muslim holy site of worship.”
The resolution likewise refers to the Western Wall Plaza as the “Al-Buraq Plaza ‘Western Wall Plaza,’” adding quotation marks to the Jewish name for the site. The resolution was submitted by Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, and Sudan.
The countries voting for the resolution were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chad, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, and Vietnam. Those voting against it were: Estonia, Germany, Lithuania, The Netherlands, the UK, and the US.

»   View analysis citing this item

RelatedView all ❯