Skip to main content

Abbas to foreign press: UNESCO resolution ignoring Jewish history on Temple Mount was “not about politics and religion”, Jerusalem is holy to all faiths

Headline: "During a press conference with his Italian counterpart in Bethlehem – the [PA] president: Peace is our strategic goal, and the key to it is the end of the occupation"

"During an interview with the Italian newspaper La Republica two days ago [Oct. 31, 2016]… [PA] President [Mahmoud Abbas] emphasized: 'The UNESCO (UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) resolution talks about history and culture, and not about politics or religion. I wish to again repeat our position that Jerusalem is holy to the three religions – Islam, Christianity, and Judaism. When we say that East Jerusalem must be open to all religions, where is the problem? The UNESCO resolution talks only about the archaeological sites.'"

UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) passed a resolution in Paris on “Occupied Palestine” on Oct. 13, 2016, with 24 countries voting in favor, 6 against, and 24 abstentions. The resolution was later approved by UNESCO's World Heritage Committee on Oct. 26, 2016, in a secret ballot in which ten countries voted in favor of the resolution, two opposed, eight abstained, and one country, Jamaica, was absent.
In the resolution UNESCO refers to the Temple Mount, the holiest site in Judaism, only as “Al-Aqsa Mosque/Al-Haram Al-Sharif,” and presents it only as a “Muslim holy site.” The resolution condemns “escalating Israeli aggressions” and Israeli “violations” at the site, and calls on Israel “to respect the integrity, authenticity and cultural heritage of Al-Aqṣa Mosque/Al-Ḥaram Al-Sharif… as a Muslim holy site of worship.” The resolution likewise refers to the Western Wall Plaza as the “Al-Buraq Plaza ‘Western Wall Plaza,’” adding quotation marks to the Jewish name for the site.
The resolution was submitted by Algeria, Egypt, Lebanon, Morocco, Oman, Qatar, and Sudan.
The countries voting for the resolution were: Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chad, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Mauritius, Mexico, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan, and Vietnam.
Those voting against it were: Estonia, Germany, Lithuania, The Netherlands, the UK, and the US.
Mexico later noted for the record that its position on the issue is one of abstention, although the vote count was unaffected.
Full text here: