Skip to main content

Bethlehem Municipality names city square “Martyrs’ Square”

Bethlehem Municipality, website  |

The Bethlehem Municipality decided on Nov. 23, 2016, to name a city square in the Wad Shahin area of Bethlehem “Martyrs’ Square,” and this was “in order to honor all the Martyrs of Bethlehem.” In addition, it decided on Dec. 19, 2016, to hold a competition to design a monument or structure to be placed in the center of the square, on which would be written “the names of the Martyrs, the dates of their deaths as Martyrs, and also pictures of Martyr Atef Abayat (i.e., Fatah terror leader accused of murdering 1) and his comrades Martyrs Jamal Nawawreh (commander of Fatah’s terror wing the Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigades) and Issa Al-Khatib (PMW was unable to determine the circumstances of his crimes –Ed.).” Former Bethlehem Mayor Vera Baboun honored terrorist Abayat and the others by endorsing the announcement of the monument competition with her signature.

[Bethlehem Municipality website, announcement of name of square Nov. 28, 2016; Mayor’s signing of monument competition announcement Dec. 19, 2016]

Atef Abayat – Tanzim (Fatah terror faction) commander in Bethlehem who was accused of murdering Sarit Amrani in a shooting attack in the West Bank (Sept. 20, 2001). He was also accused of shooting at the Jerusalem neighborhood of Gilo. Abayat was killed in a car explosion about a month after the murder of Sarit Amrani. PMW has been unable to verify the circumstances surrounding his death.

RelatedView all ❯