Topic | Choose topic/s and define your search
Affiliations / Personalities
Date Range

Ramallah municipality to name city squares after terror leaders

Headline: “Address: Mahmoud Darwish Square”
“Executive Director of the Ramallah municipality, Ahmed Abu Laban… said: ‘Execution of the Mahmoud Darwish Square [project] is part of an entire plan of the Ramallah municipality to build several squares in the city, to be named after Palestinian symbols in many spheres. Work is currently in progress on the George Habash Square in the Al-Tireh neighborhood, in addition to the Mahmoud Darwish Square, and the proposal for the Yasser Arafat Square (the Clock Square in the city center) has been passed. The aim is to inaugurate all three squares at the beginning of next summer. Thereafter we will begin work on other squares in the city, such as the Haidar Abd Al-Shafi Square, the Abu Ali Mustafa Square, the Ahmed Yassin Square, the Bashir Barghouti Square, the Karim Khalaf Square, and other squares.”

Note: Haidar Abd Al-Shafi - Physician and political leader. In 1991 led the Palestinian delegation in the Madrid Peace Conference.
Abu Ali Mustafa - General Secretary of the terror organization Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP).
Ahmad Yassin - Founder of the Hamas terror movement.
Bashir Barghouti - Former Secretary of the Palestinian Communist Party. Appointed Minister of Industry in 1996 in the first Palestinian Authority Government.
Karim Khalaf - Palestinian attorney and former mayor of Ramallah from 1972-1982. In 1982 he was removed from office by the Israeli government.
George Habash - the founder of the terror organization Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP). The PFLP, which rejected the Oslo Accords (1993), planned and carried out numerous terror attacks against Israeli civilians since its founding in 1967 and throughout the Palestinian terror campaign between 2000- 2005 (the Intifada).