Skip to main content

PA Ministry of Education names football tournament after suicide bomber who murdered 30

“In the football field of Tulkarem’s Abd Al-Majid Tayeh School, under the auspices of Jamal Tarif, Director of the Education Department [of the PA Ministry of Education]; Supervisor of Physical Education [of the Tulkarem District’s Education Administration of the PA Ministry of Education] Jamal Odeh; and in the presence of school principal Jamal Ayat; the head of the sports committee, and committee members; the Tulkarem Martyrs’ (Shahids’) Football Tournament, the Championship of the Martyr Abd Al-Basset Odeh, began with the participation of seven top teams, named after Martyrs who gave their lives to redeem the Homeland. The teams are: ..., Martyr Raed Karmi… Martyr Tareq Abu Safaka, Martyr Tareq Al-Qato, Martyr Mahmoud Marmash... Issam, the brother of the Martyr (suicide bomber Abd Al-Basset Odeh), will distribute the trophies."

Note: Abd Al-Basset Odeh - suicide bomber who carried out Passover dinner attack at the Park Hotel in Netanya on March 27, 2002. 30 Israelis were killed and 140 injured.
Raed Karmi - commander of Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigades in Tulkarem.
Tareq Abu Safaka - suicide bomber who carried out attack on the West bank community of Hermesh in 2002, killing three Israelis.
Tareq Al-Qato
- member of the Al-Aqsa Martyrs’ Brigades; sniper in the PA’s intelligence apparatus, who shot many Israeli soldiers.
Mahmoud Marmash
– planner of the suicide bombing at the Sharon Mall in Netanya in 2001. 5 Israelis were killed and 74 wounded.

»   View analysis citing this item

RelatedView all ❯