Skip to main content

PA summer camp sponsored by Fayyad names children’s groups after terrorists

Itamar Marcus and Nan Jacques Zilberdik  |
PA summer camp sponsored by Fayyad
names children's groups after terrorists

by Itamar Marcus and Nan Jacques Zilberdik

A Palestinian Authority summer camp for children divided its campers into three groups named after the terrorists Dalal Mughrabi, Salah Khalaf and Abu Ali Mustafa.

Dalal Mughrabi in 1978 led the most lethal terror attack in Israel's history, in which 37 civilians were killed, 12 of them children.
Salah Khalaf (Abu Iyad) was the head of the Black September terror group. He planned many terror attacks including the murder of two American diplomats, as well as the murder of 11 Israeli athletes in the Munich Olympics in 1972.
Abu Ali Mustafa, General Secretary of the terror organization Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP). He planned numerous terror attacks against Israeli civilians during the Palestinian terror campaign ("the Intifada").

A fourth group was named after Yasser Arafat.

The summer camp was held under the auspices of PA Prime Minister Salam Fayyad, who visited the camp to participate in the closing ceremonies, which he also sponsored.

Last week, Palestinian Media Watch reported on a college class and a Fatah summer camp group named after Mughrabi.

The following is the report on the summer camp in the PA daily Al-Ayyam:

"The head of the Public Relations Department of the Shahid Salah Khalaf Center, Nojoud Daraghmeh, announced the conclusion of the 'Palestine in the Eyes of the Children of Martyrs (Shahids) Summer Camp', which took place under the auspices of Prime Minister Salam Fayyad and was organized by the National Association of Families of Palestine's Martyrs. [The summer camp was held] under the supervision of the National Committee of Summer Camps and with the participation of 70 boys and girls, the children and siblings of Martyrs from all [West] Bank districts. The summer camp included numerous activities and events. Participants were divided into four groups, named after leaders and fighters: Martyr (Shahid) President Yasser Arafat, Martyr Commander Salah Khalaf, Martyr Abu Ali Mustafa, and Martyr Dalal Mughrabi. Several senior Palestinian Authority officials visited the summer camp, headed by [PM] Salam Fayyad and Fatah Central Committee members Jamal Muhaisen and Sultan Abu Al-Einein... A closing ceremony at the end of the summer camp was held under the auspices of Fayyad... who gave out awards [to officials involved in the summer camp.]"
[Al-Ayyam, July 20, 2011]

To view PMW's report From Terrorists to Role Models, click here.