Skip to main content

University football teams named after terrorists

     “The Media Department at the Al-Quds University in Abu Dis… conducted the draw for the Martyr (Shahid) Jahjouh Football Tournament… which will begin on Thursday at the new El-Bireh [sports] field. Eight teams from the university will participate. [The teams] were named after Martyrs and divided into two groups. The first group included [teams named after] Mu’tasim Adwan, Amer Nassar, Ghassan Kanafani, and Dalal Mughrabi. The second group included [teams named after] Younes Jahjouh, Amer Nawfal. Khaldoun Shouman and Yahya Ayyash.”
Click to view bulletin

Note 1: Yahya Ayyash was the first Hamas suicide bomb builder and planner, known as "the Engineer." He is considered the founder of Palestinian suicide terror, and was behind attacks killing dozens of Israelis and injuring hundreds.
Dalal Mughrabi - led the most lethal terror attack in Israel’s history in 1978, when she and other terrorists hijacked a bus and killed 37 civilians, 12 of them children.
Ghassan Kanafani – Was a writer and a leader of the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine (PFLP).
Mu’tasim Adwan – was killed in 2011 in clashes between Palestinian residents and an Israeli army force that had come to arrest suspects in the Qalandyia refugee camp.
Amer Nassar – was killed by the Israeli army after throwing a Molotov cocktail at a military post.
Younes Jahjouh – was killed in 2013 in clashes between residents and an Israeli military police force that had come to arrest suspects in the Qalandyia refugee camp.
Amer Nawfal – senior DFLP official who died in Syria in 2007.
Khaldoun Shouman – member of the Palestinian Security Forces who was killed during an exchange of fire with the Israeli army, after he mistakenly thought the soldiers were Hamas operatives and opened fire at them.

Note 2: On Oct. 26, the PA daily printed an article announcing the winner of the tournament:
“The Martyr (Shahid) Younes Jahjouh team won the Al-Quds University Institute of Modern Media’s football tournament” The article notes the teams named after the above Martyrs.

»   View analysis citing this item